The Week in Review: I Hate Our Government, Lauren Talley Hates/Loves Terry Franklin, David Phelps Has a New Haircut, and More…

First, some assorted non-southern-gospel tidbits…

*Al Mohler is rightly calling out megachurch pastor Andy Stanley for being vague at best and harmful at worst regarding marriage and sexuality in a recent sermon. Worth a read for an indication of where even the supposedly more “conservative” church is headed.

*A different church is in hot water after staging a fake kidnapping to teach their youth group kids what it’s like for Christians in persecuted countries. File under “Really, Really, Really Bad Idea.”

*Via Tim Challies, I found Thomas Sowell’s take on the Trayvon Martin case very interesting. Sowell can always be counted on to speak thoughtfully and sensibly on whatever topic he addresses.

*Some sad political news for people who love America. Bluntly put, we made a deal with the scummy Chinese communists to betray a brave pro-life activist. Read a good recap of the situation here. I bet Ronald Reagan is rolling over in his grave. Shining city on a hill? What shining city on a hill?

Now, southern gospel happenings:

*The GVB has a new album coming out which will be all-acoustic and produced by Ben Isaacs. DBM has the goods here, plus a new promo shot featuring David Phelps’s new hairstyle! I did a double-take, I did.

*Daniel Ball set a new standard for press releases on group change when brother Josh Ball left the group this past week. I don’t subscribe (obviously I should remedy that), so I wasn’t one of the bloggers who received Josh’s hilarious send-off, but you can read it at several assorted blogs around the SG ‘net. Here’s a link to the release on Wes Burke’s site.  Josh has been replaced by Chad McCloskey, and I am really enjoying the group’s sound with him. Here’s a really excellent video of him being featured on “Beulah Land.”

*Hat tip to View From the Pew for featuring a clip of the Talleys in the studio, working on a smokin’ new song, listening to Terry Franklin’s uh-mayzing demo. In which  Lauren Talley reveals that she hates Terry Franklin… in the Lord… in Christian love. We love you too Terry!

The thread is yours…

16 Comments

Filed under Open Threads

16 responses to “The Week in Review: I Hate Our Government, Lauren Talley Hates/Loves Terry Franklin, David Phelps Has a New Haircut, and More…

  1. Lydia

    That’s some haircut for David Phelps. :-)

    It’s nice of Mohler to engage in a polite pretense that there is any ambiguity in Stanley’s message, but based on Mohler’s summary, there is no ambiguity. Stanley is normalizing homosexual relationships. As long as neither person is married to anybody else. Sheesh.

    Josh Ball left because of Meniere’s disease, right? Great press release.

  2. dbmurray

    Lydia,
    No, it was Stephen Ball who left due to his hearing loss in January.

    Josh left for the standard constant traveler’s reason…to spend more time at home.

  3. Terry Franklin

    Jason Webb said he didn’t hate me.

  4. Hey, YGG…Terry Franklin is the BEST, as we both know! He’s a modest man, so he soars above (pardon the pun) such comments as “we could never sing this song like Terry”. But on this song (which happens to be one of mine, by the grace of God), he DID knock it out of the park! :)

  5. Brigitte

    Wow. Thats all I can say everytime I look at the new gvb picture. I looked at it once a while ago, and I thought “wow” when I saw David’s hair and then again today– same thing, Wow!!! I can’t decide if I like it or not, I get startled everytime I see it! He looks like a different person! I kind of had to take a second glance too! Wes sure looks amazing though!!! :D :D lol love Wes :) definitely something you and me have in common!

Leave a Reply

