Sing it Again: “Taking My God At His Word”

In 2005, Brian Free took a break from quartet singing and put out what is still one of my favorite solo efforts in southern gospel. Although I’ve never quite wrapped my brain around that other-worldly voice, his ear for a good song was as canny then as it is now. My personal favorite is the fresh, vigorous country rocker “Dare to Be a Daniel” (written by fellow Gold City alumnus Steve Lacey). Other highlights include “Anthem of the Ages,” which BFA could record today like new, and the tune I’m highlighting today, “Taking My God At His Word.” I could hear a number of artists doing this today, including the Perrys, Barry Rowland & Deliverance, Ernie Haase & Signature Sound, and Greater Vision.

I think I would be most excited to hear Chris Allman take a stab at it, but for Ernie to have a go would be great fun too. What do y’all think?

1 Comment

Filed under Sing it again, Songs

One response to “Sing it Again: “Taking My God At His Word”

  1. What would be really fun is to have all 3 sing on the same album providing harmony for each other. I think it would rival Mark Lowry, David Phelps, Michael English and Guy Penod singing ‘House Of God’, espcially when the later three, when they hit the high notes.
    See https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mbaa7-YpQNQ .

Leave a Reply

