Rachel Will Not Be Comforted By Hypocrisy

Well, I’m sure all of you have heard the devastating news from Connecticut. And I’m sure all of you have been forced to watch what President Obama has to say about it on just about every media outlet there is.

His speech-writers worked fast on the day of the murder to produce perfectly banal gems such as this: “I know there’s not a parent in America who doesn’t feel the same overwhelming grief that I do.” Or this: “This evening, Michelle and I will do what I know every parent in America will do, which is hug our children a little tighter, and we’ll tell them that we love them, and we’ll remind each other how deeply we love one another.” Or this: “May God bless the memory of the victims and, in the words of Scripture [really?], heal the brokenhearted and bind up their wounds.”

More recently, they polished up a speech specifically for the mourners, offering up more banalities: “Whatever portion of sadness that we can share with you to ease this heavy load, we will gladly bear it. Newtown, you are not alone…we bear responsibility for every child, because we’re counting on everybody else to help look after ours, that we’re all parents, that they are all our children…” And this, my personal favorite: “This is our first task, caring for our children. It’s our first job. If we don’t get that right, we don’t get anything right. That’s how, as a society, we will be judged.”

Indeed, Mr. President. They say that Herod was eager to come and worship the child also.

Hypocrisy is like a stench in God’s nostrils. But these days, it’s only cool to talk about it when we’re talking about conservative evangelical Christians. And nobody dares to ascribe it to our President. But to put it bluntly, the shoe fits. Like Cinderella’s glass slipper, it fits. I don’t know how else you can describe a man who sanctions the daily slaughter of such “beautiful little kids” as he pompously referred to in his speech. I don’t know how else you can describe a man who quotes Scriptures about binding up the wounds of the broken-hearted when the abortion machine has destroyed too many lives and souls to count. I don’t know how else you can describe a man who dares to speak of judgment for a society that won’t care for its children without a single twinge of uneasiness or regret—just a calculated  voice tremor, a fake furrowed brow for the sake of some children whom society had decided it was acceptable to mourn for.

Mr. President, if you will not repent, then please do the nation a favor and leave us alone in our grieving. We don’t need your help. Rachel is already weeping for her children, and she will not be comforted by hypocrisy.

9 Comments

Filed under Faith and Culture

9 responses to “Rachel Will Not Be Comforted By Hypocrisy

  1. Brian

    Now is not the time. Hypocrisy. Does that slipper fit you? I wear it daily. Sometimes with an almost arrogant awareness. Sometimes convicted and repentant. Has there ever been a follower of Christ who reached out to comfort the mourner whose hands were not covered in the blood of our Lord? Blood shed for their hypocrisy? We knew God but did not honor him as God. I am praying for the words to say here. I recognize my own fleshly bent towards a self- righteous criticism…..in your tone here. I think. You however, with the help of the Spirit,know the truth.
    The shoe obviously fits. There is certainly hypocrisy in the President’s position. But it hurt to hear the obvious disdain and judgement of President Obama’s words about his family in your writing. As if it is impossible to love your children and hold an unGodly position on abortion. As if the words of scripture coming from the mouth of a sinner are an abomination to The Lord.
    I don’t know the hearts of any invoved. I certainly don’t know yours. I have no standing from which to judge your intent. I love to read your writing. I see grace and humility in your response to your critics. I am not getting that from this piece. I stand with you in your anger at the slaughter of all innocents.

    • All have sinned, but some have repented. Obama has not repented, and his words have a special irony given the nature of his unrepented crimes. That was what I was endeavoring to point out.

      I believe Obama may indeed have a measure of love for his family, as most fathers instinctively do. I wish no evil toward his wife or children. I am however appalled that he would presume to quote Scripture as though he has any respect for it. So yes, I disdain the President, as I believe Jesus disdains all who take his name in vain.

      Obama is the kind of man Scripture tells us God is angered by. While it is true that Jesus died so that he could be forgiven, he has shown no signs of accepting that gift.

      • Obama has not repented? He has no respect for the Scripture? He has shown know signs off accepting that gift? I’m sorry, but do you know President Obama personally? If not, how can you say that?

        I’m sorry, but I can’t stand it when we “Christians” judge others like this. Its no wonder so many people decide to be atheist.

      • Saved Girl

        I will leave much of the defense up to YGG, after all, I believe she is quite capable of defending herself. However, I would like to know, what would you have said to Paul when he took on the false teachers at Galatia and other churches? What about the laundry list in the epistles describing the hideous sins of false teachers? I don’t believe that Paul “knew them personally”. He was simply proclaiming the truth that they were trying to twist and deny, a lot like Obama. The Bible says that we will know people by their fruits. Obama has plenty of public fruit and there is no reason to suppose that you have to know a person personally to be able to judge their fruits. No, not their hearts per se, but yes their fruits.

      • Yeah, I could come at this from a couple different tacks. For example, I could point out that you put “Christian” in quotation marks when referring to my post, thereby being inconsistent with your overall message that we’re never supposed to judge/question a person’s faith.

        The inconsistency route is a nice rhetorical place to begin, and I hope you do in fact see that you’re being inconsistent. But I’m not going to stop there because ultimately, whether or not someone takes a consistent viewpoint isn’t a measure of how true their viewpoint is.

        So, I’ll take your points one by one.

        1. You counter that there is no possible way that we can have of knowing that Obama has repented. I reply that SavedGirl is on the right track, and we have some public fruit that strongly indicates he has not. He ran a campaign based on the most radical pro-abortion platform in the history of politics. He has not withdrawn funding to abortion providers here and abroad. He is continuing to run rough-shod over the religious liberty of hospitals and businesses who have a conscientious objection to providing certain forms of birth control that may or may not be abortifacients. It’s so bad that some hospitals are closing down because of the crushing fines. One order of charity-working nuns may have to cease operations in America. So much for reaching across the aisle to help the least of these.

        2. You counter that there is no possible way that we can know Obama doesn’t respect Scripture. I reply that he has publicly twisted it to his own ends, saying that God’s clear commands about the evil of homosexuality are somehow trumped by Jesus’ Sermon on the Mount. He claimed that Jesus would have been in favor of state support for homosexual unions, claiming this overruled “an obscure passage in Romans.” I rest my case.

        Obama has also claimed on many occasions that he essentially has a direct line to God and God is guiding his policies (while also saying that he thinks it’s dangerous and arrogant for politicians to claim they have a direct line to God—go-figure). This again is taking God’s name in vain, because of the rank evil of many of Obama’s policies.

        So to answer your question, no, I don’t know Obama personally, but he is a very public figure. He’s making speeches and policies all the time. That makes it easier to guess where his heart lies. If he has repented, he’s keeping it very well hidden.

  2. Saved Girl

    Amen and amen.
    I was thinking the same thing when I heard a clip of him talking about how these children had their whole lives ahead of them. Yes, like the babies that you want murdered…
    Thank you though for not making this article insensitive to those who are suffering loss in this tragedy. We don’t want to sound cold-hearted and ignore their pain while just yelling about the president’s hypocrisy.

  3. Interesting. Seems like he is kind of missing the point by wanting stricter gun control laws but not acknowledging the genocide which happens every day with killing of the unborn. It is absolutely horrible what happened to those children and as a father I am deeply saddened by what those parents are going through.

Leave a Reply

