The Week in Review (08/28): Fall Outlook, New Dixie Echoes Lineup, Matt Fouch Debut, and More…

Well, as the Bruce Hornsby song says, “the autumn’s coming in and the summer’s all gone.” Man, I feel that. I wish I could have this summer back and spend the time more wisely. But alas, we can only go forward.

I want to start with a word about the Week in Review. This particular feature is actually pretty time-consuming for me, but I’ve tried to keep it up because it’s a way of rounding up some news items and other things that bigger blogs have already covered. I don’t tend to post these sorts of things throughout the week because typically somebody like Daniel Mount is immediately on top of it, and by then the item has been reposted on several other blogs. I’ve always wanted my blog to have its own character. That said, I don’t want to make it look like I’m living in a bubble. But that does mean running around and picking stuff to include, putting it in order, saying something meaningful about each item, etc. Starting next week I’ll have a new job, and of course I’ll be in school. This means that blogging in general will very likely take more of a back seat, though I do hope to continue posting regularly (if less often). But that may mean that for a lot of weeks, there just isn’t a Week in Review. However, what I might do instead is put up an Open Thread for you guys to supply the interesting stuff. I hope you’ll understand. :)

Second, I know that you have all been waiting patiently for several months for me to write that concert review of the EHSS/Collingsworth Family double-billing I caught in Shipshewana. Or at least some of you have… others may have forgotten about it altogether by this time. :) But I haven’t forgotten, and in fact (drum roll please), the review is finally in the can and ready to go for some time next week. Watch for it…

Thirdly, I am hoping/planning to cover the National Quartet Convention this year, but it’s going to be a little different from last year because my new job involves teaching classes in the evening for four evenings. So no running commentary every night, sadly. :) Probably what will happen is that I will watch sets from only some of the artists, then try to pick highlights for the next day.

Okay, now for the week in review…

*Scotty and Kasey Inman’s daughter was born earlier this week but quickly began to struggle with seizures in conjunction with breathing loss. The latest update is that her brain scans came back normal, but she still has the seizures and will be remaining in intensive care on medication for a few more days. The Inmans covet your prayers!

*The Dixie Echoes have filled all their positions with some names that I for one didn’t recognize: Craig Thomas on tenor, Jordan James on bass, and Ben Hart on piano. They sound great. Here’s a video of the lineup singing “If You Know the Lord” (shaky vid, good audio), and another video from the same concert of “On the Other Side of Jordan,” which showcases Craig and Ben’s skills. And this is Jordan James’ rendition of “How Big is God” (audio so-so but good video). We’ve found another great young bass singer!

*DBM has posted the first review of Dianne Wilkinson’s new autobiography.

*Video of the week:¬†Matt Fouch made a successful debut with Legacy 5 at Silver Dollar City. Lauren at Southern Gospel View caught him singing “I’ve Been Changed” (cut off before the last chorus, unfortunately). I know this might be heresy, but I think Fouch may actually be a better bass than Glenn Dustin (I hope I haven’t called down the wrath of L5 fans everywhere!) You can read Lauren’s coverage of the entire Southern Gospel Picnic at her blog.

Open thread.

12 Comments

Filed under Open Threads

12 responses to “The Week in Review (08/28): Fall Outlook, New Dixie Echoes Lineup, Matt Fouch Debut, and More…

  1. Brigitte

    what? no commentary on the NQC chat? lol well I’ll miss that!!! When is it? I’m fairly sure I’ll be watching it….

    • September 10-15th. Don’t worry, I think I’ll be on the chat for part of the time, but Monday night it’ll be especially broken up because I have an evening lecture plus my teaching, and then on Tuesday-Thursday there’ll be that hour or so in the evening when I’m not on. Plus I’m trying to get my fatigue under control by going to bed earlier so even once I’m on I’ll probably draw the line at 10:30 or so. :D

      • Brigitte

        Tuesday night I have a 3 hr. class at the college so I probably won’t be on at all… Wed. night I’m busy… lol so Idk how much I can be on. I usually try to go to bed around 10-10:30 too so… unless a group that I really want to hear, I’ll be gone for that too!

  2. pleusink

    I’ve just watched the new Best of The Booth Brothers DVD……it is GREAT……words & music….I’ve been blessed! Thank you Bill, Ronnie, Michael & Jim.

  3. Brigitte

    Today in church we sang “It is Well” and the atmosphere was just amazing!! I totally see why you love that song… its one of my favs too! (Sorry for all of my random commentary…) :D btw, I am thinking of starting a blog soon but Idk if I’ll have time with school and stuff. I’ll try and let you know if I do start blogging. (It won’t be Southern Gospel stuff, just like a “My life” type of thing.

    • Random commentary is what open threads are for. :) I could be mistaken, but I think our church hymnal doesn’t even have “It is Well,” because it’s Anglican, not Baptist. Fortunately we have a different set of Baptist hymnals at home that we use when we have all our homeschooling friends over to sing hymns every other month. :)

      I’d read your blog if you started it. You can link to it in your name when you comment if and when you ever get around to it. :)

      • Brigitte

        stuck on one small detail though lol :) Idk what to call it; My name is NOT Brigitte, thats my name from French class at school :) but I might like to include my name in the title… not sure yet though. I was thinking maybe “Long Thoughts from a Short Person” or something cuz I’m short (4ft. 11 in. and done growing :P lol) or just something like “Thoughts from (my name) “

      • Oh you poor thing! I can empathize. I’m not quite that short but close. My mom is even shorter than you. :D I like the blog title!

  4. Brigitte

    http://longthoughtsfromashortperson.blog.com/ well I think that should do it… I am open to suggestions since I am new to this blogging thing… :) Now instead of imagining, you can actually see what I look like lol :)

Leave a Reply

