God is God and I Am Not

A couple of years ago I was learning how to use Windows Movie Maker for the first time, and it thrilled me. Music and songs were so woven into my life that I loved the thought of being able to find the perfect images to match everything I felt when I heard a certain song, and put it all together just so. WMM is such an intuitive program that I learned quickly. I still use it today.

One project I did was a video to accompany Steven Curtis Chapman’s “God is God.” I’ve mentioned before that the loss of his little girl impacted me very deeply, and I think making this video was a kind of journey for me—the summation of all my wrestling and praying and sorrowing on that family’s behalf. I wanted to capture the entire redemption story in a few minutes, with Steven’s loss as the starting point. That sounds ambitious, but I was stubborn.

I’d like to think I succeeded, and I certainly know it touched me when I finished it. Recently I obtained permission to put the video on Godtube. I’m posting it here because Maria Sue Chapman went home to be with the Lord four years ago today. I pray it will be a reminder of the hope that we so often forget. Here’s the link (I had planned to embed it, but Godtube has changed its code so I’ll have to figure out how to convert to shortcode for WordPress all over again).

Here’s a cool note about the final shot: It looks like a painting, but it’s actually a photo of a telephone pole. The photographer was extremely gifted and caught it in a sunset, looking exactly like a cross. He called it “When the Telephone Pole Tries to Tell You Something.”


12 Comments

Filed under Faith and Theological Ramblings

12 responses to “God is God and I Am Not

  1. Brigitte

    Very nicely done. You did a wonderful job arranging that! :) WMM is great; I use it all the time :)

    • Thank you Brigitte, I appreciate that. :) What kind of projects do you do?

      • Brigitte

        Well, I like to write stories, so I make video trailers for some of them. :) I also have recorded and recorded over top of that and over that until I have myself playing the violin, viola, and cello all at once and then I put it into WMM. Nothing really special or anything. :)

      • Sounds cool to me, especially since I can’t play violin, viola, or cello. :)

  2. Lydia

    The interspersed images from the Passion bring out an important point: God’s gift of his Son is a part of God’s answer to the problem of evil. God did not simply leave us to suffer alone. He sent his Son to participate in our suffering, to put Himself in the path of evil men and to allow them to crucify him, and to rise again for our redemption. And one day, all shall be made new–which has been made possible through Jesus’ suffering and death.

    I remember when 9/11 happened various people were meditating on the problem of evil, and I said something like, “Though that was horrible, it was over relatively quickly for the victims. I’m even more troubled by all the innocent people around the world who are victims of evil torturers.” And then it came to me that Jesus was an innocent victim of evil torturers. This has both an existential and an intellectual dimension. Existentially, it strikes us at a level so deep as not to be easily analyzed: God participated in our suffering. That has meaning. Intellectually, we can recognize that this divine participation in human suffering was part of a grand plan whereby God means to give in heaven eternal joys in comparison to which all earthly sufferings, however horrific, are but light and passing afflictions.

  3. Blocked at work :(
    But I look forward to viewing it tonight. … and now “Secret Ambition” is stuck in my head (thanks to your credits on the page). Interested in looking that video up as well :)

    • Sorry about that! Hope you enjoy it.

      You’ve never seen the video for “Secret Ambition” before? Kind of famous… prepare to snicker at Michael W. wandering around in a tanktop with dark glasses staring ominously at the camera. :D

  4. Riete

    Beautifully done! I will certainly watch it again and again :)

  5. Great job! Man, that guy can write a song. I will never forget a trip we took a few years ago. When we were on the way home we had to take a detour through a small town due to interstate construction, and the five of us (my wife and our three kids and me) had “Live out Loud” cranked up and we were singing at the top of our lungs LOL

    • Glad you enjoyed it! Yeah, for a couple years his music was basically the soundtrack to my life. One of the all-time CCM greats.

      That’s awesome. I love that image. Did you turn anyone’s heads? :P

Leave a Reply

