Rear-View Mirror Spotlight: Andrew Goldman

About a year ago, I asked Ernie Haase who his picks would be if he were putting together a young all-stars male quartet. He chose Andrew Goldman for baritone, a kid who’s grown up in Ernie’s own town and “has really caught my attention.”

I made a mental note to keep an eye on young Andrew, and coincidentally he has been making recent waves with Ryan Seaton’s new group Union Street. It didn’t take more than a few Youtube clips to convince me that Andrew is a very, very serious talent. People are already comparing him to the young Doug Anderson, and he does have a similar smooth quality. But his more power-house stylings actually recall a young Ryan Seaton for me, though with a lighter timbre—at the moment I’m leaning towards a comparison to Riley Clarke. And Riley’s a tenor. Although Andrew sings baritone with Union Street, he can and has sung lead (for the Conquerors Quartet). His range is astonishing. There are virtually no baritones in southern gospel who can hit the notes he hits, and only a handful of leads. And through it all, he maintains an immensely satisfying purity and cleanness of tone. He’s just plain easy to listen to.

This young man has the complete package. He should already be numbered among the top ten baritones in the genre, at least. I’m going to go a step further and say he should be in the top five. Here are a couple samples of what he can do. First, watch him take a turn at the tenor part for the key change on “The Love of God”:

Now, watch him own the classic “Who Am I.” (HT to Josh on this one):

Andrew Goldman, ladies and gentlemen! What do you think? I say all he needs to do is lose the dorky retro glasses and he’s good as gold.

17 Comments

Filed under Singers

17 responses to “Rear-View Mirror Spotlight: Andrew Goldman

  1. NWBaritone

    Very good. I’d ditch the glasses also, but maybe they are trying to give him a signature ala Guy Penrod’s hair. I’m curious who your top five baritones are. I’ve come up with a top three of 3. Doug Anderson 2. Jim Brady 1. Marshall Hall….being more knowledgable about the genre than I, perhaps you could point me in the direction of other good baritones.

    • Very quickly (and keep in mind these are personal favorites only) it would probably be:

      1. Doug Anderson
      2. Jim Brady
      3. Andrew Goldman
      4. Scotty Inman
      5. Mark Trammell

      I know Trammell is considered the greatest, and maybe he is… this list just reflects my individual taste in listening.

  2. Joel Pruitt

    Sure He’s awesome! But Doug Anderson has more of a country style, while he is all southern Gospel style… It’s great, but you can’t compare him with Doug Anderson, simply because they are in a different catagory.

  3. Deborah Canto

    Marshall Hall
    Doug Anderson
    Andrew Goldman
    William Golden
    Mark Lowry

  4. Jordan P

    Can’t forget Mark Trammell or Mark Lowry. Say what you will about Lowry having trouble singing parts, but he has such a rich and powerful voice. After polishing his part, Lowry fills out the group like few baritones can do. Trammell needs no explanation. Bryan Walker is also very good, though he isn’t the richest in the lower registers.

  5. Lydia

    Can someone explain the picture on the screen behind Andrew on “Who Am I?” I see the cross. But _what_ is the rest of the picture? It looks like…I dunno…an upside-down old-fashioned nightcap or a badly drawn map or something. With black squiggles. :-)

  6. Riete

    For me Mark Lowry is definitely #1. He has a voice that draws you in … it’s inviting you to experience what he sings about.
    The others have great voices but they don’t have that intimacy and … can I say it like this? … love.

    But this young man definitely can sing! Wow!

  7. Thanks a bunch for the article. I’m honored to be in a category with such amazing singers. I’m very blessed to be a part of Union Street, and to stand on the stage with the caliber of guys that I sing with. I am the least talented of the group. as far as the “dorky” glasses, I’d prefer more “mad scientist” looking, haha. I feel they set me apart. I will say, that the white glasses have been retired. Those were a one night only thing.:-)

    • You are most welcome! And I agree 100% that you are in very good company indeed, though we may have to disagree on the “least talented” part. ;)

      Well, but doesn’t “mad scientist” imply a kind of dorky itself? E.g. Professor Plum, Doc Brown… hmmmm. I will agree with you though that they’re somewhat better than the white ones. :)

      Keep singing well, and God bless.

  8. quartet-man

    As someone who was probably around when the glasses were in style, I say let’s not go back. ;) Style, however, is according to taste and can be defined by others differently. However, at one time Brady Bunch clothes were in style, but I have no desire for most if not all of those to come back either. :p But to each his own. :)

    I do think that from what I have heard (I haven’t listened to their stuff for some time) that he is talented as well as the whole group. I will have to listen to these clips later and hear better.

    As far as baritones, I am partial to Mark Trammell and Mark Lowry in particular. It must be the name. ;) There are certainly others I won’t get into, but Trammell is pretty much self-explanatory and Lowry has a great sound and smooth power voice when he learns a part. He can also blend though and has a great range.

    This shows not only Wes’s gift, or Buddy’s or even Michael’s, but Mark’s.

    • NWBaritone

      There is no doubt that Lowry now is as good as he has ever been. I’m a recent listener to the GVB, maybe only the last ten years or so. I really preferred Marshall Hall at baritone. Perhaps as a baritone singer myself I really admire Hall’s accuracy in chords. Bottom line, they are all very talented and different things appeal to different people. We are fortunate to be able to listen to so many wonderful talents.

      • Amen! And Marshall had to grow on me, but I did come to appreciate his talents. Stylistically he sometimes makes it too “pop,” but he, Penrod and Hampton had great chemistry together. Very tight.

  9. David Mac

    “Marsh…Guy and Wes had a great chemistry together” – not half!

    The phenomena there may be Wes, as a relative new comer he is right in the “Top Five” category. Funny thing here is, Ryan apart – and he was the “baby” in Sig Sound – these guys are ALL relative newcomers and they can ALL flat out sing. I am impressed at the ability of all four to carry a strong solo part, so much so that it alters the style of their SG quartet singing; each can handle a full length solo with minimal backing from the other members. Yet their blend is top drawer as well.
    These guys are individually close to Top Five EACH, in fact Toby, Ryan, Andrew and Aaron as each of such quality that it almost detracts from the standout quality of their step out parts! If you see what I mean.

  10. Pingback: David Ragan Leaves the Perrys, Andrew Goldman Joins | Southern Gospel Yankee

Leave a Reply

