Saturday Survey #12: Sample New EHSS Music, Hear Obama Sing, and More…

*Ernie Haase & Signature Sound have now posted audio clips of all songs from their new project _Here We Are Again_. Go check them out! And take a look around their snazzy new website while you’re at it. I’m no professional web designer, but to me it appears to be a VAST improvement on the old one. Oh and guys… the matching red suits are baaaaaaad. Thumbs up. :-P

*Speaking of EHSS’s new album, I appear to  have had a sudden influx of new readers because my recent review of said album was included in EHSS’s latest e-letter. To the e-team, thanks for the reference, and to those of you who found my blog that way, welcome! Make yourself at home, and I hope you like what you read.

*At Terry Franklin’s request, Scott Fowler recently sent out a call for anyone who might have memorabilia related to the few nights back in ’91 or so when Terry subbed with the Cathedrals—photos, flyer, etc.—to scan it and e-mail it to him. If I have any readers who could help in this area, by all means send whatever you’ve got to Scott. He and Terry will both appreciate it!

*It’s neat to see Poet Voices back on the road. Nice trio, good history of singers and songs. New promo video here, new website here.

*If I can ever get around to it, I’m hoping to post a review of Declaration Trio’s new project _In Good Hands_ soon.

*There’s a new documentary coming out this year about the gender-cide of baby girls throughout the world, particularly East Asia (China, India, etc.) Watch the trailer, shudder, and pray.

*Obama can sing. Who knew? I’m not completely surprised though—musical talent, like athletic talent, tends to run strong in the black race. Perhaps he should leave politics and become a recording artist instead? We can only hope.

*I have now succeeded in uploading my cover of “Because You Loved Me” on Godtube. Now you can enjoy the (polite cough) unmatched brilliance of my voice WITH a sunset in the background. :lol: :lol: :lol: [NOTE: If you know me even remotely well, you know that was entirely tongue-in-cheek. But since I can sometimes be misunderstood even by people who should know better, I just wished to clarify.]

In all seriousness though, I didn’t think this was completely terrible, considering I gave myself less than a week to learn and practice it from scratch, but if you wanna hear this song SUNG by a SINGER, check this out. Not that it’s anything special, just another young Asian prodigy. Yawn.

*I survived my first calculus quiz yesterday. (It was only two questions long.) I like my prof. I spontaneously murmured in class the other day, “This is so much fun.” His response: “I think it’s fun,” smiling with satisfaction at the full blackboard. I was told I do a good impression of him. I’m a good mimic in general, whether it’s my mom, my dad, Jimmy Stewart, Barney Fife, or Heath Ledger’s joker. Voices and gestures. WEIRD, I know, but I’m actually not kidding. But I guess I’m especially good at geeky people who wear glasses, as a geek who wears glasses. :)

As usual, the thread is yours. I don’t get many comments on these for some reason. Go ahead guys… Rave about the new EHSS album! Or the joys of calculus! Or my stunning (or not-so-stunning) vocal chops! I don’t care… just discuss something. :D

11 Comments

Filed under Open Threads

11 responses to “Saturday Survey #12: Sample New EHSS Music, Hear Obama Sing, and More…

  1. JSR

    Math in general is awesome….although now that I haven’t had a math class in 7ish years the thought of graduate level math classes freak me out.

    Nice cover of the song. Didn’t know you were a singer.

    • :D A large part of it is simply having a firm grounding in highschool algebra. Without that foundation, you’re pretty much toast, but if you’ve got it, you’re on your way.

      Thanks, I haven’t had any real lessons until a few months ago. I always thought I had some ability, but I wanted to become better. My teacher says I’ve improved, so I’ll take her word for it. :) I enjoy trying different styles. As a little girl I loved to sing classic jazz—I’d go around imitating Judy Garland, the Andrews Sisters, etc., and I still love that style. But classical is most natural for me. Straight-forward pop is a bit of a stretch. It’s fun though!

      • Amy Herrera

        You homeschooled – did you use Saxon? I waded through pre-calculus and enjoyed when I wasn’t crying or pulling my hair out. (I didn’t do those things for real, and I did enjoy the challenge.)

      • Actually I never used Saxon because we knew other families who said the huge workload was a drag. We did A Beka through middle school, then turned to some very good, thorough curriculum my dad had on hand for Algebra I and II. We did some geometry in there too, but after suffering through a little from a standard textbook, we chose to go back to old Euclid himself and cut short the misery. :D In my senior year Dad introduced me to some basic calculus, and that has set me up REALLY well for my college course now. So far everything has been review!

      • Amy Herrera

        Ah, then you had a good teacher. Mine was self-directed. Argh!! I did half the problem sets on Saxon most of high school, but when I did pre-calculus I had to do them all to get in the practice I needed. I barely kept my head above water. But it felt like an accomplishment I could be proud of. I was doing basic math and even algebra in my head that I never dreamed possible. :D

  2. Hey ! Just wanted to tell you that we heard the Booth Brothers, Master’s Voice, The Mckameys, the Martins, and Gold City last night in Monroe, La. It was a great concert. Frank Arnold was supposed to mc, but he was tied up in Houston. Aaron Wilburn couldn’t be there because his mother is sick.
    Thanks !

  3. Grigsby

    Turns out that one of the concerts with Terry singing tenor with the Cats was in the county that I lived in back then. I probably could have had a good seat and snapped some nice pics because the weather was awful and from what I heard, the concert attendance was way down. Howvere, I had a commitment at my church and honored it. I had never seen the Cats live before and it was hard to miss. It all worked out. God allowed me to see the Cathedrals live dozens of times over the next 7-8 years.

    • How sad that you missed Terry! But, just so you know, I’m terribly green with envy now that you’re waving your dozens of live Cathedrals concert experiences in my face. I’d watch your back if I were you. :D

Leave a Reply

