What I Learned in 2011

I’m going to put up some New Year’s resolutions soon, but first, here are some things I learned last year. I mean, this year. (I guess it’s not 2012 yet.) As my readers know, I love to make random lists, and this is no exception:

1. I learned that there are some great people in the Church. Seriously, this is the number one thing I learned. I met some amazing people this year. Some truly amazing, humble, godly people who somehow thought it was worth their time to make time for me.

2. I learned that there are some not-so-great people in the Church.

3. I learned to take Benjamin Disraeli a little more seriously when he said “Never explain, never apologize.”

4. I learned that trolls are just about the biggest time drain in the universe.

5. I learned that I was too liberal for some conservatives.

6. I learned that I was too conservative for all liberals.

7. I learned that writing songs could be easier than I thought.

8. I learned that forgiveness could be harder than I thought.

9. I learned that bad writing, slick visuals and obnoxious liberalism will get you everywhere. (*cough*, Rob Bell, *cough-cough*)

10. I learned that stuff doesn’t always make sense (like the fact that bad writing, slick visuals and obnoxious liberalism will get you everywhere).

11. I learned that mint hot chocolate leaves regular hot chocolate in the dust.

12. Finally and most importantly, I learned that Marty McFly invented rock and roll:

 

What did you learn this year? Please share.

13 Comments

Filed under Fun

13 responses to “What I Learned in 2011

  1. LOL, loved that part about Rob Bell. He’s about one of the biggest idiots in the universe. :)

  2. 4,5,6,9, and 10 I laughed….LOTS!

    11. SO true.

    I learned the word for speaking in tongues which is glossolalia, which sounds SO beautiful. And I learned what I must do to make myself more healthy and it’s been great.
    Negatively I learned talking to people online is ridiculously hard…even friends. And I learned that I am HORRIBLE at memorizing.

    Can’t wait for your New Year’s Resolutions. I’m going to post mine soon too.

  3. Norm

    I learned that trying to correct folks on the internet who are wrong (on facts not opinion) is a waste of time.

    I pleasantly learned that some conservative folks think ygg (a self-described home-schooled conservative) is too liberal. Maybe she can eventually end up in the disappearing moderate camp of which there are far too few of us.

    Have a great 2012. I’m too old (and finally too smart) to make any resolutions other than to enjoy every moment I’m given.

  4. quartet-man

    I learned that I look horrible in a tutu, don’t ask how I found out. ;) JUST KIDDING!!!

  5. Amy Herrera

    I don’t know that I learned it this year, but you’re way too nice to let people beat up on you all the time. :) I’ve been closer than ever to beating my blog addiction ;) lately, but made the rounds the other day… Would you be offended if I reminded you about that thing about casting your pearls before swine? I’ve been seeing some of those names out there for years, and they’ve been nasty for just as long. (Except for Odeliya, who used to have a reputation for being really nice till she met Avery.) Honestly I don’t think you’re gonna help them, and I kinda winced to see them using that kind of language and insinuations about you. Take care of yourself, Ok? :) :)

    • I envy you. Stick around for my New Year’s resolutions. :)

      You know, it’s really sad what happened to Odeliya. I used to read Southern Gospel Forums before they were shut down, and she seemed like a sweetheart then. Obviously she fell in with the wrong Internet crowd.

      I do try not to spend much time with said swine, but thanks for the reminder. Rest assured that I have no false hopes of redeeming anybody. I’m not surprised at how they treat me, but I don’t particularly care either.

      Again, stay tuned for those resolutions…

Leave a Reply

