Music Video: She Still Remembers Jesus’ Name

Hat tip, DBM. This is my favorite kind of music video—one that actually tells a story. As I’ve discussed before, music videos are probably a rarity in southern gospel largely because the subject matter doesn’t tend to lend itself to this kind of thing. When the Ball Brothers did a video for “It’s About the Cross,” I praised it, but they were hugely limited by what the song would let them do. Ultimately they didn’t do much more than walk around in suits and sing.

But a story-song like “She Still Remembers Jesus’ Name” is perfect, and this video complements it beautifully. The only way it could have been even better is if Ronnie and Jim had ditched the necklaces and buttoned up their shirts all the way like Michael (sorry guys—couldn’t resist, it’s a pet peeve of mine :) ). Seriously though, you can just hear them: “No Michael, you can’t wear your tie in the scene where we’re going to visit the mom. You have to wear something different.” So he takes off his tie, puts on a somewhat more casual jacket, and unbuttons one, maybe two buttons. There he draws the line, bless his Baptist heart.

Look for a guest appearance by Phil Cross. I believe he was involved in making the video possible—thanks to him are in order.

15 Comments

Filed under Videos

15 responses to “Music Video: She Still Remembers Jesus’ Name

  1. That was amazing! Awesome quality, great acting! I have to agree about the necklaces though. :)

  2. Amy Herrera

    Should I say it? Should I not say it? I really can’t stomach guys going around with there shirts like that. It’s not hot.

    • :) It’s sort of a cowboy/country singer look. I can actually deal with it better when the open collar/necklace is matched with a plaid shirt or some other complementary clothing. It’s not my favorite style, but at least it all makes sense together. But in some scenes they’re doing it with a really nice Oxford and suit jacket. That doesn’t make sense.

      • Amy Herrera

        My brother-in-law sat across the table from me the other night in a plaid shirt and it was still not hot. Or cool. I guess that makes it lukewarm, and you know how that affected my appetite.
        I’m not saying it’s the worst thing anybody could do or trying to be insulting; I just know that our opinions do matter, and nobody will ever know mine if I don’t say so. :)

      • Oh, I completely understand. As you can see, I’m not really disagreeing. :)

  3. Amy Herrera

    Or not cool. Or whatever. Lol

  4. Gina

    Great video-beautiful voices I only wish they had done a video for He Saw It All!!! I can only imagine the lives that would have been touched by a video like that.

    • Budget-wise that would probably be more complicated, because it’s a biblical story. It’s a little tough to put people in 1st century costumes without making it look like a goofy Christian Halloween party. :)

  5. Diana

    Thank you for the song. My mom died after being affected by Alzheimer’s for 20 years. I heard the song today and I thank you for writing it. It touched my heart.

  6. Kim Foster

    Oh my gosh, I thought the exact same thing–Tacky necklaces and open shirts! This video is not what I pictured when I heard the song. I pictured an older lady, and a nursing home.

  7. Sam Heyns

    I don’t know too many men that wear suit and ties all the time anymore. I thought they were fairly dressed up wearing suits – even if they weren’t wearing ties. I think the video is very well done and think it is very petty of people to bash what they are wearing, rather than being blessed that they took the time and effort to make the story come alive. My grandmother suffered with (or glowed through) 10 years of Alzheimers, she’s been gone for over a decade and I think of her every time I hear this song.
    Be grateful guys and gals! :-)
    God bless y’all.

    • I think it’s understood that we all love the Booths and we have a friendly twinkle in our eye when we gently poke fun at something like that. :) The video is well done! Thank you for sharing about your grandmother.

  8. Peg Hopkins

    why did they have to wear ties anyway. It was a wonderful video and a wonderful story

Leave a Reply

