Saturday Survey #7

*The Dove Brothers have found their replacement tenor. I think Jonathan had the better voice, but I 100% support McCray in the turnover. I’m sure he’d appreciate your prayers.

*Our favorite Southern Gospel Blog contributors, the Garms family, took a tour of the Cathedrals’ legendary bus this week, the Silhouette.

*Jackie Wilburn, the Wilburn family patriarch, passed away the other day. Steve Eaton has posted some exclusive vintage concert clips of the Wilburns, featuring an incredibly young Jonathan Wilburn—I’m gonna guess he’s no older than 23 or so. Here’s a moving obituary from Jonathan.

*DBM has a new column: Hype/Reality, in which he takes the hype over a new album or song and assigns a letter grade based on how well it reflects his own opinion. Check it out.

*Just came across an episode of Southern Gospel Gardener featuring a surprise guest appearance by Clayton Inman. We love the gardener! I sure hope he reads my blog. Maybe some of his coolness will rub off on me.

*Here’s a disappointing blog post by Dr. Russell Moore, in which he gives his readers his class’s final ethics exam. Not only is it highly unprofessional, charged with manipulative language to make the students feel pressured into giving one particular answer (which is blatantly obvious much as he may protest to the contrary), but it is also strangely and deliberately unrealistic. It’s a situation involving American law concerning immigration, except Moore has made the laws far more draconian in his hypothetical scenario. You’d think that if you were trying to equip students for ministry, you’d train them to think and reason under real-world conditions instead of giving them deliberately skewed hypothetical scenarios. But sadly, I wasn’t that surprised by this post since Moore has shown oddly left-leaning instincts in the past, religious-righter though he may be considered by most die-hard liberals. So this just continues the trend.

*So many stupid blog posts, so little time to tear them apart…

*I’ve recently been indulging myself in some Pixar movies. Discovering and re-discovering. First, I revisited the original Toy Story after what has to be roughly a decade and a half (it’s still awesome), then I watched Toy Story 3 (forced, melodramatic and overrated, but still pretty good—heck, I cried at the end). I then went and found some priceless behind the scenes footage for the latter. Tom Hanks and Tim Allen in peak form:

Then I revisited Finding Nemo (more crying), and then I discovered what all the fuss was about Up. That movie is not overrated. It is the most brilliant piece of film-making sincesince… well, anyway, it’s JUST BRILLIANT! More crying. Oh yes, and I realized where Michael Booth got his “squirrel” line from…

Then I revisited A Bug’s Life, which has one of their best blooper reels…

Finally, I watched Monsters Inc., which made me cry twice. TWICE! That one may actually be my favorite. I might even be heretical and say I like it better than Toy Story, but… I don’t feel brave today.

12 Comments

Filed under Faith and Culture, Movies, Open Threads, Singers

12 responses to “Saturday Survey #7

  1. I’m interested in what you think is stupid about the Gungor blog post.

    • There are a lot of things I could say about it, but I honestly think my time would be better spent in other ways. Suffice it to say that it’s just more evidence of the rise of po-mo values. There’s a movement in the church that bills itself as progressive, subversive, throwing off the old guard, etc., and what Gungor was expressing simply fit right into that pattern.

  2. Samuel

    USA Today did an article on church music, and it featured Bro. Wayne Hardy from Stillwater!

  3. Amy Herrera

    Hey, you know anything on immigration gets my attention. So don’t get mad at me, please, please? :-)

    Your comment on laws being far more draconian than what we have now. Actually my husband and I just talked to a lawyer in Kansas City a few weeks ago, and this is the exact situation she told us we’re in. We hope to get a second opinion, but I mean this woman is at the forefront of the movement today and teaches immigration law in a university, and I’m afraid she knows her stuff.
    She said that since my husband left the country to visit his family after being here over a year, even though he has been here for about six years uninterruptedly now, he is subject to a permanent ban. She said that if he left the country for ten years, we could afterwards apply for a waiver. (But no guarantees.)
    We don’t know what to do. A holiness missionary lady was (dressed just like me) was killed close to Juan’s hometown just this year. The Zetas run the place and murder and rape at will. And as a blond pretty white girl (excuse my saying so) I’m terrified to go, and my husband is terrified to take me.
    He last crossed the border a few years before he was saved. He has a first cousin in a rival cartel (whose sister, husband and children were massacred this year) and the Zetas were rounding up random people with his last name and driving ice picks into their kneecaps and leaving their decapitated bodies along the highways. Mexico is in a state of civil war, but since it’s such a large scale problem, we can’t offer asylum as we’ve done with some other countries.
    We take out taxes on his wages every week. We have a taxpayer # (the IRS will take anybody’s money), but since we can’t get proper ID for Juan, we paid a few hundred dollars extra last year.
    Professors don’t need to make up far fetched hypothetical examples. There are plenty of real ones all around them if the family-value Republicans would look past the large scale economics or the votes they’ll win or lose and look at individuals trapped in a very difficult, ambiguous reality that leaves us praying for the Lord to show us a way through the Red Sea.

    • I thought your husband was a legal immigrant… was that mistaken?

      I think you’re unfair to say that it’s all the family-values Republicans’ fault. The liberals who are pushing for more amnesty and non-enforcement of immigration laws are actually doing illegal immigrants a very grave disservice by attracting them into these messy kinds of situations. We’ve brought this on ourselves to a great extent, and things wouldn’t be nearly so screwed up if we had just taken a stricter stance to begin with.

      • Also, I would say that I don’t think it’s fair to round up illegals and just start deporting them. What we really need to do is start fining the employers who are taking advantage of them.

      • Amy Herrera

        I agree with that. Based on my admittedly fuzzy understanding of the 80s, there were supposed to be some toothed laws preventing the hiring of uneligible workers, and they got defanged.

        But my concern is the situation I’m in right now, along with a few million others. Go ahead and implement e-verify, but please do something alongside it to keep from completely destroying my life. With some “draconian” laws like that in place, we wouldn’t have a repeat of the current problem because jobless people could never sit around for 20 more years waiting on more amnesty. Worst case, they’d come, give up, go back and warn others, “There are no more jobs up there.”

      • Amy Herrera

        Cross post with your 7:26. It takes me a long time to type on an iPod.

      • Amy Herrera

        It’s an iPod Touch. Is that what you’re asking?

        Ya gotta be really dedicated to spreading the bad news about immigration to do it on an iPod. :lol: My hubby’s on the laptop.

      • No, no, it’s just that I had a computing fail when I was imagining someone typing on an ipod. :)

Leave a Reply

